Silver Patron Saints: The Songs Of Jesse Malin Benefit Album To Be Released September 20

June 7th, 2024

A benefit compilation, Silver Patron Saints: The Songs Of Jesse Malin will be released on September 20th via Glassnote Records. In May 2023, Malin suffered a rare spinal stroke that left him paralyzed from the waist down. The charity compilation will have all proceeds benefit Jesse Malin’s Sweet Relief Fund. 

“As always in my songs, the themes are all there— transcendence, positivity and global unity through music,” said Malin. “This is what I love to do, and I’m going to do everything I can to keep doing it.” Silver Patron Saints: The Songs of Jesse Malin is tribute and benefit album, with all proceeds to Jesse Malin’s Sweet Relief artist fund.  

The list of artists part of the upcoming collection, includes Bruce Springsteen, Billie Joe Armstrong, Lucinda Williams and Elvis Costello, The Hold Steady, Tommy Stinson, Alison Mossheart with the late, great Wayne Kramer, Tom Morello, Counting Crows, Dinosaur Jr., The Wallflowers, Spoon, Susanna Hoffs, Frank Turner, Rancid, and Bleachers. The full track listing is coming soon.

The first song released from the compilation is Jesse Malin “Prisoners Of Paradise (featuring Bleachers).” Watch the video visualizer HERE.

Jack Antonoff takes the song “through tunnel-of-love reverb like Suicide’s ‘Dream Baby Dream'” cut after hours at Sun Records in Memphis,” writes longtime supporter David Fricke in the liner notes.

Malin said, “There’s a feeling of liberation that comes with this, but I don’t want to keep repeating myself either. “My whole process—since I was 13—is to progress, evolve and challenge myself on each record. I really hope people in all parts of the world can relate to these songs, just the spectrum of emotions, overcoming by celebrating life through music and art.”