HotWax Cover Deep Purple ‘Sail Away’ On Amazon Prime’s My Lady Jane

June 27th, 2024

#HAPPENS 2024 Las Vegas UK showcase band, HotWax are featured on the soundtrack for the new Amazon Prime series, My Lady Jane that debuts today (6/27). HotWax recorded a cover of Deep Purple’s “Sail Away” for the show which will be featured twice throughout the series. Check out their version of the song HERE.

The new series is a witty revisionist take on Tudor history and the My Lady Jane Soundtrack released today via Milan Records, includes up-and-coming female-fronted artists from the UK putting their own unique spin on iconic British songs.

Here’s the My Lady Jane Soundtrack Tracklist:

  1. Goat Girl “Tainted Love” 
  2. Black Honey “Wild Thing” 
  3. Lizzie Esas “I’m A Man” 
  4. Griff “She’s Not There” 
  5. Chinchilla “The Chain” 
  6. Katy J Pearson “Dreamer” 
  7. HotWax “Sail Away”
  8. Yonaka “Ever Fallen In Love”

My Lady Jane co-showrunners, Gemma Burgess and Meredith Glynn, state, “We love how the covers work in the show – they tell the audience this is England in the past, but not as you know it,” when speaking about their choice to use music within the show.”

Music Supervisor Ciata Elwis curated the female-fronted artists. She explains, “The female characters in our show are often not treated with any respect or given the place in the world that they deserve, but they don’t let that get to them – they’re constantly fighting for something more. I think all of the artists we’ve used have that feel in their vocals, of taking up space and refusing to back down. The songs aren’t ‘nice’, they’ve all got a bit e to them, which is what we really love about Jane too.”

Stream the My Lady Jane soundtrack HERE.